Presto Pesto

pesto

When I was in California a couple of weeks ago, my mom and I ate at Alive, this delightful raw food restaurant in San Francisco. She ordered “ravioli,” which was ground cashews between thin slices of turnip sprinkled with pesto, really good pesto. Now, Alive is this teeny little cafe with maybe 4 tables. Our waiter was the owner, and was very attentive and friendly. The thing about raw food restaurants is that patrons always have questions about what they’re eating. Always. I have never dined at a raw establishment and heard any less than 5 questions directed at the staff. So, my mom, of course, had questions. Mainly, “how do you make the pesto?” His answer: basil, lemon juice, garlic, walnuts soaked in water overnight, and miso.

pesto cubes

One booth at the farmers marketĀ  had gorgeous bunches of basil, so I picked one up. I couldn’t find miso at QFC, but found that the mixture worked just fine without it. The bunch of basil yielded more pesto than I could eat in a few sittings, so I froze single-servings in an ice cube tray for later. It’s great on pasta, but I liked to thinly slice zucchini and saute them with a pesto cube, salt, cashews, and a little olive oil. Yum.

Pesto

  • 6 cups basil
  • 1/4 cup lemon
  • 1 cup walnuts, soaked in water overnight
  • garlic cloves, to taste (2 or 3)
  1. Combine all ingredients in blender or food processor and blend to a paste.

pesto zucchini

0 Responses to “Presto Pesto”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

