Basic Coconut Rice

I had brunch at Portage Bay Cafe in the U-District over the weekend with some girls in my program. I was impressed with the number of delicious looking vegan (and non-vegan) options on the menu, though disappointed by the service, wait time, and unreasonably large portions; many people feel that big plates of food are a good thing when dining out, but I would rather pay less, eat a sensible yet filling meal, and move on. Instead, I balanced three servings’ worth of food on my lap through the entire 3-hour the post-brunch movie (Avatar). While I was grateful for the food, I ended up paying $9 plus a $5 tip (ah, the perils of eating in a group) for a dish I knew I could duplicate for a fraction of that at home.

The dish? The cafe’s coconut rice: long-grain white rice stewed in coconut milk, served with shredded coconut, dried cranberries, nuts and banana. While I greatly enjoyed it, I am determined to replicate the experience in my rice cooker for less money and less calories. Here’s my first stab:

Coconut Rice
makes 4 servings

  • 1 cup long-grain brown rice, washed
  • 1 can light coconut milk plus enough water to make 2 1/2 cups
  • 1 tablespoon agave nectar
  1. Combine all ingredients in rice cooker; cook.

Serve with chopped pecans, dried cranberries, and shredded coconut (optional)

0 Responses to “Basic Coconut Rice”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

